Recommend us on Google:
Like us on Facebook:
Thursday, 20 July 2017

Blog Preview


Being one of the oldest and most imposing cathedrals in France, the Notre Dame cathedral Paris's con Read More

Reviews

You must Register to leave your Review:

Reviews (9)Add Comment
0
...
written by Joe Cool, August 03, 2009
Great sights, great sounds. Recommend
0
...
written by Notre Dame Cathedral of Paris, September 02, 2011
Love the Notre dame. Such an amazing Cathedral.
0
...
written by Paris Fanatic, November 23, 2012

Taking A Walk Through Paris – Not The Notre Dame Cathedral But Still Amazing

Return to the Cour de la Fontaine and walk over to the pond, the Etang des Carpes, which also marks the start of the Jardin Anglais, covering some 12 hectares (30 acres), designed by Andre Le Notre (1613-1700) in the 17th century and modified during Napoleon I's reign. Walk along the right-hand side of the pond. There are many allies, down which feel free to wander. On the other side of the pond is the Carrousel, built by Louis XV for the royal stables.

Back at the pond, walk over to the royal garden, the square Parterre du Tibre, 2.4 hectares (6 acres) in area, designed in Henri IV's reign and later altered by Louis Le Vau (1612-1670), who created the terrace. Its central pond, the Bassin du Tibre, is named for the bronze statue, signed by Primaticcio. As you approach the Parterre you see an attractive horseshoe-shaped ornamental pond and fountain encircling another round pond, the Bassin du Romulus. The Parterre leads to a grand view over the canal, dug in Henri IV's days.

Walk down the steps of the terrace towards the canal and reach Route des Cascades. Feel free to walk into the park, which is rather wild; the grounds are really limited to the Jardin Anglais, the Parterre and the Jardin de Diane. The park's main interest is as a provider of perspective, and there are also many places for picnics.

The town

Fontainebleau is pretty, but not much else. This route gives you a flavor of the place. As I have made clear, this walk isn’t near to Paris’ Notre dame Cathedral, but it is still well worth it.

Turn left along Route des Cascades and go uphill to Rue du Parc. take the first left into Rue d'Avon, reach Place d'Armes (another entrance to the palais),cross into Rue de la Chancellerie, which flanks the chateau, and reach the busy Palce Napoleon-Bonaparte where most of the action in Fountainebleau takes place: there are cafes and brasseries.

Carry on straight over into the busy Rue de France and the pedestrian shopping precinct; turn immediately right into the narrow Rue de Mallets, then first left into Rue des Bouchers. At the crossroads, turn right into Rue des Sablons, another pleasant shopping street; continue for a while before turning right along Rue de la Paroisse to Rue Grande, which you cross to Rue du Parc. A little way along, you can turn right into Rue du Chateau, which leads you back to Place d'Armes.

If you feel have enough, re-enter the chatea, turn right, cross the Jardin de Diane diagonally, reach the Jeu de Paume and Cour du Cheval-Blanc, and go through the gate to catch your bus. Alternatively, you could stroll back to the station. Retrace your steps to the canal and walk down it across the park. Turn left at the bottom and come out via Porte de Changis onto Rue Remy-Dumoncel, which across to Rue du Montceau. Cross Rue des Deportes and reach Rue du Viaduc, which runs by the railway line. Turn left to reach the railway station, less than 1km (1/2 mile) along.

The enormous forest of Fountainebleau-about 16,000 hectares (40,000 acres)- lies to the west of the town, at the bottom of Rue de France. It is a unique place, full of remarkable trees-notably many ancient oaks-but is especially well known for its rocks. The only way to visit it is by car or bicycle, and you need a good map.
0
...
written by Julie Loves the Notre Dame Cathedral - Paris' Best Attraction, December 08, 2012
The Notre Dame is one of the most beautiful and romantic structures in the world. Love it.
0
...
written by RONDARobinson19, December 30, 2012
If you are in the corner and have got no money to move out from that point, you will have to take the personal loans. Just because that will aid you definitely. I get secured loan every year and feel great because of this.
0
...
written by Veronica Stoiber, October 18, 2015
I just wanted to provide very positive comments about Pere Jaques de LONGEAUX. He was offering confession when I visited a few months ago, and he was very patient, caring and understanding. Many thanks Father LONGEAUX, it is greatly appreciated especially when we think of many tourist you must attend on a daily basis.

Sincerely,

Veronica
0
...
written by Helge roska, December 06, 2015
Hi. Trist is for free.
Hello. I found this ad on the find. a Norwegian buying and selling website. This model of the church is made of matchsticks and is in my opinion very well made. it will be given away.

http://m.finn.no/bap/forsale/ad.html?finnkode=67669506&category=0.76&ref=fas
0
...
written by Fiona, December 26, 2015
Two friends and I attended Mass in Notre Dame on December 23rd at midday. We are visiting from Australia. Although we did not understand all that was said in French, we loved the atmosphere and our shared understanding of the Christian message, particularly around Christmas time. We are Catholic and attend Mass in Australia. During the Mass we went forward to take communion. I was the third in line of my friends. My friend at the front was questioned by the priest in French and then, when she didn't understand, in English. He asked her if she was Catholic and even when she said she was, he was very rude in his manner toward her. Myself and my other friend were also treated rudely by the priest. As he gave us the Host he shook his head, frowning and grumpy and said 'This is not your way'. Immediately we gathered up our belongings and left, feeling very hurt and offended by the unwelcoming and judgemental attitude of the priest. We do not know what we had done to offend him, but I was so sad that, whilst distributing communion, that this priest showed no love in his heart for strangers. We had sat respectfully through the whole Mass and given an offering. The attitude shown to us is opposed to the evangelical, welcoming, loving message that the church should be proclaiming. This is my third visit to Paris. I absolutely love Paris and the French people. The only French person who has been rude to me is the priest from Notre Dame, during Mass. So disappointed.
0
...
written by partition recovery, March 17, 2016
Minitool Power Data Recovery. Open it and you will see 5 modules on its main interface. Different modules should be used to deal with different data loss situations. For example, “Undelete Recovery” module is used to recover deleted data while “Damaged Partition Recovery” is used to recover Windows data from logically damaged partition. After selecting a suitable module, you can see detailed operating prompts at every step.

Write Review
smaller | bigger

busy